Packs for Packrafting

Lets hear it - what is your favorite packrafting pack and why.

if you were to have your dream no-holds bar packrafting pack - what would it look like?

I’ve been kicking around a packraft specific pack design for a few months. Now that I’m a limping gimp I can put the time into making a prototype. Roman and I got together a few weeks ago and scratched out some more ideas
Here is the tick list so far:
-Modular and adaptable drybag harness style pack
-able to handle loads up to 60lbs
-Removable hip belt w/pockets.
-Removable frame sheet / bivy pad
-2 1/2 lbs normal, 1 1/2 lbs stripped
-very, very non water absorbant
-bushwack protection

what specality packs are out there now:
The WX tex pack - this seemed to be a cool packrafting pack, but its one compartment design with 4 buckles to open the top proves cumbersome. Also the pack lacks any points to strap stuff to the outside.

Next up is the NRS Paragon - This is a cheap solution for kayakers to carry heavy dry bags, or their boat on portages. Its simple, but lacks much shape and I’ve heard from friends that it can be not so comfey… and really lacks any protection for the drybag, just ask JT.

Next up was the Ula pack made for the arctic 1000 trip. This seemed to be a good solution, and Ula made a bunch for sale afterwards. The production pack however left a bit to be desired in my book in that the shoulder straps attach to the weak tabs at the bottom of the WXtex dry bags. I’ve ripped a few of these corners out through normal use (who hasent?), and doubt they would hold up in the long run. Also, not much protection for the dry bag on bushwacks… seems expensive too.

So I started the hip belt for a prototype last night… the design I’m working on is closest to the Ula of the three, with more mesh, different suspension and different features all together. I’ll keep you posted as it takes form. Feedback is welcome!

Eric