Tyvek "Dry" suit

Howdy,

I’m new to the packrafting community and I was thinking of some ways to stay dry and keep my pack weight down. In the construction industry I’ve used these Tyvek Jumpsuits they sell that are pretty much a full body setup w/a hood. They worked great for keeping dirty water and grease and rain off of you. I’ve also done the expierement filling them with water and they are surprisingly tight. I’ve made a few thinks out of Tyvek and have been pleased with how they hold up. One thing though is you look like a big marshmellow in the winter. I wouldn’t see it working on some difficult rafting, but for intermediate stuff you might be alright.

Let me know if anyone has done this or has input.

Thanks

Steve

Great idea!

Since they are only a few dollars each, the field test would be easy to run.

Come to think of it, tyvek jackets with race names used to be handed out in some trail ultramarathons 10-20 years ago. I always gave mine away, but some old-timers swore by them

Thinking muskratsteve had a neat idea, I swung by my local safety supply store. I wilted in the Tyvek suit – too sweaty to imagine working hard while wearing it. I asked the sales staff about alternatives with attached boots that might not be in the show room. They brought me a Kimberly-Clark dust protective suit – Kleenguard A20. Much cooler than the Tyvek. Blowing at it, I felt air go through. Not a good sign, but for less than $7 still worth a try. I bought a 2xl for enough room to move easily in street clothing with pockets loaded for an after-work float.