Tidal river rafting

I am pretty new to rafting though I have done some tidal river canoeing. What I am looking for as far as information goes is anything along the lines of do and dont do and what to watch out for. I"ll describe what is involved in this tidal river stuff and hopefully you all will have some insights I should be aware of.
Ok , the said river is called the Shubenacadie and is located attached to the Bay of Fundy in Nova Scotia. The bay itself gets some pretty high tides with 80 feet being mentioned frequently in various local publications. The full moon and new moon tides produce a tidal bore about 3 feet high that sweeps in over huge mud flats. {any ideas as to what could be done with that bore are welcome} There is some water in the bay at low tide and a bit of water precedes the bore by a few minutes. Some neap tides bring in a bore said to be under 10 feet but the few I saw were in December while I was hunting ducks and I was back on shore by the time it rolled by so I cant vouch for its height.