New Canberra packrafter

Hi everyone,

Thought I’d introduce myself seeing as I’ve been outed in Steve’s trip report for the Tuross River, that’s me in the brand new red Llama. My boat arrived Thursday and I was lucky to be on the river that Sunday so I’m a genuine newbie (both with pack rafting and forums!) but do have a fair bit of other outdoor experience. I’ve been living abroad (Jordan, no water) and only found out about these things when I came back to Australia this year.

A big thank you to Steve for organising the paddle, being generous with his time and knowledge and for being prepared to take a punt on a couple of untried rafters !. It was a fantastic day out and he was right, very suitable for beginners although having more experienced guys around helped hugely. Also big thanks to Peter for kitting out my mate Graham for the day.

Given I live in Canberra I would particularly love to catch up with any local paddlers (I know you’re out there!). I’m also keen to get involved in any efforts to gain access to Penrith. I’d like to progress to extended river trips, it seems there are a few like minds out there so hopefully we can get a few things happening

Anyway hoping to meet you all out on the water soon and looking forward to more trips like the Tuross.

Cheers
Mick

Good to see the Packraft numbers climbing !

I’m in Sydney Mick but frequently make it to Canberra to visit friends. I have talked a Canberra mate into trying Packrafting so will let you know if we plan a trip. Tuross looked like great fun, I couldn’t join in as I was waiting to get hold of a helmet that fit right. I now have it and it fits so keen to get on the water. All we need now is reasonable water levels !

Ah great news that you are in the Can and rafting!

I will be back in July/August this year. Looking forward to be back, and now also to meeting you.

I’m keen to give Queanbeyan river a go soon… apparently there is some nice water between Can and Quean.