Cross Country Packrafting Boots

Hello All,

I’m new to packrafting, but I’m all too familiar with expedition hiking and kayaking/rafting. I’ve been planning a cross country hiking trip, then I learned of Alpacka rafts and the sport of packrafting. Now I’m bent on incorporating inland waterways into my journey starting in New York City and ending in Seattle or Portland.

But, with this crazy sport comes an interesting fusion of gear, one I am looking to solve right now is my footwear. I’d really like to just carry one pair of boots/shoes for both Hiking and Paddling. I’m either looking for a hiking boot that can be submerged and used as a water shoe with drainage and the ability to dry quickly or a water boot that has ankle support and a stiffer sole for hiking long distances over rock and trails.

The only option I’ve found right now is Astral’s Rassler, http://www.astraldesigns.com/products/Rassler.php. Does anyone have experience with this company or this particular footwear? Or maybe you have other suggestions for a good combo boot.

I think I have all my other gear set. I’ve got a Llama with spray deck on the way, as well as a sawyer paddle and a stormy seas SV100 inflatable vest. If anyone has other gear suggestions or tips, they would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Scott

PS- If anyone is looking for a good read, take a look at River Horse by William Least Heat-Moon. I’ve read it twice already for river research and to prepare for my trip. It follows the author and his close friend across the country on inland waterways from the Hudson River all the way through the end of the Columbia River. It’s quite humorous and enlightening.

You might look at Vietnam boots. Just don’t get ones with punji plates in the soles.