Break down paddle getting stuck????

I have been paddling my boat in the surf for a few months and as a consequence haven’t taken my paddle apart for a while. I now have found it is pretty much impossible to get the thing apart. Just wondering if anyone has any hot tips on how to solve this problem?
Cheers
Duke
Imgur

I have also had a lot of trouble with my paddle getting stuck (an Aquabound Splat) , although I’ve never left it for any length of time without separating the bits. Actually, as I respond to this email, I reralise that my 2 splats are currently out in the shed in one piece, so I might just rush out and separate the sections!

Try heating it up with hot water, or steam - this expands “things” and might allow 2 “very strong” people to separate the sections! This works for fishing rod ferrules which stick.

I actually had to get a belt sander onto the male bits of the ferrules of my first Splat to thin them down so that I could get them to join and separate easily. My second Splat paddle hasn’t been so difficult. Quirkily, I now notice that the belt sanded paddle is rather “loose” at the joins, so I presume that the ambient temperature plays a large part in all of this, it now being cooler in Melbourne. On reflection, I didn’t realise that fiberglass of carbon fibre was so heat sensitive.

Having said all this, perhaps you actually need to cool it all down?!

Anyway, try changing the temperature one way or the other!

A chemist paddling friend says this…