Best fit Alpacka for bike-rafting/touring?

I was hoping to get some advice from the bikerafters. I have some experience bike packing/touring but adding some water travel to that or hiking, a packraft looks like the way to go. I’ve seen many of the blogs, pictures and videos of your badassery, and now I have the itch. I am going to scratch it but I haven’t decided to the best equipment to get started.

I probably won’t be doing any water too nuts ( at least for a while), and I want the ability to carry my salsa fargo and eventually a fatbike with all the bikepacking trimmings possibly on some longer tours. Dream trip is to bike and raft the Mekong river and find some badassery of my own up here in AK along the way before I get to that.

I’m 5’7 with a 30’ inseam, 170-180 any given sunday… Alpacka’s size chart says I should be in an Alpaca but I think this might be small for my uses except hiking. I am leaning toward a larger model something like the Mule and I think the Yak would be the absolute smallest I would go. Would the larger raft be unruly to paddle? By the measurements they are mostly just longer making them track straighter, right? And the mule also a couple inches wider at the bow which I think would be more stable with a bike? If the mule or LLama wasn’t loaded with a bike would it be hard to control for my size?

I realize you could pack a bike on any of these but what would the most useful system be? What has worked for you? If you rafted with a bike on a smaller model did you wish for more size? Any thoughts, advice, and experience would be welcome. Thanks, Nick

I’d get the Alpaca, or Yak at the most. Plenty of space for anything you can possibly carry on your back, but no added fabric bulk/weight to pack and haul on the bike. Llama and Mule are just huge in a relative sense, with no real benefit for what you want to do.

My GF is 5’7", in an Alpaca, and she has heaps of room with her fatbike on the bow.

Good luck,

MC