Beginner trips on the Colorado

Hey all,

I’m a beginner paddler with a few whitewater rafting trips under my belt. I’m planning to pick up an Alpacka Denali Llama sometime this year and hopefully do the Escalante next Spring if flows are good. In the meantime I’m planning to get my boat and float some easy sections of the Colorado for experience. Any suggestions for easy sections from Class I-III?

Nathan

If you mean the Colorado IN Colorado, a great beginner stretch is the Pumphouse to Rancho del Rio run. Details here: http://www.eddyflower.com/RunDetailstabs.aspx?RunId=74#/home

Justin, thanks for posting. I should’ve been more specific. AZ and UT.

Well, EddyFlower is also a great resource for UT and AZ, as is the book Whitewater of the Southern Rockies (which covers CO, NM, AZ, UT, WY). I have a copy and it’s an awesome reference.

HI Nathan,

Welcome to packrafting! The way you look at the backcountry is gonna change in a big way!

What will also likely change is the way you consider river segments. For example, I’m not real interested in taking a packraft down much more than Class III whitewater, but I’ve packrafted Class V river segments. Packrafts are so easy to portage that choosing which rapids you want to run and which you want to avoid is not an issue. This, of course, is assuming the rapid can be portaged. But even the concept of “portage” changes when you have a packraft. What is considered unportageable in a raft, or even a kayak, might be easily portaged with a packraft. So when Eddyflower or a whitewater guidebook - which definitely weren’t written with a 5lb packable boat in mind - says that a particular river segment is a Class III or higher I don’t necessarily rule it out as a fun and mellow packrafting trip, as long as the crux rapids are portageable.