Packrafting NYC

So far there are three of us, at least that I know, in the NYC area. If you’re interested in joining us for a drink to discuss trip ideas, share transportation, etc., post here or send me a PM.

3 years later…

If anyone is in the area, I’m looking to do some weekend trips (day to 1-2 nights). My experience is limited to a packraft trip along a class II river in Alaska. As a result, Class I - II is preferred, as I’m a looking to gain more comfort with maneuvering and reading currents.

Hi,

I’ve just got an Alpacka Yukon and I live about an hour north of NYC (in Beacon, NY).

I did two trips so far, once on the Moodna Creek in Newburgh, and another on the Hudson Gorge. I have a lot of kayaking experience already, so I got the raft to do hiking/whitewater and to do runs like the Hudson which can be done as overnight trips.

There is a run close to here called the Mongaup, which has a release schedule and is a class II+. it would be a blast in an Alpacka, and it’s releasing this Saturday (july 13th). See schedule here:
http://www.kccny.com/0/RiverReleaseSchedule.aspx.

I’ll be going, but taking a kayak this time. Let me know if you’re interested. Also, I’m looking to plan some overnight raft/hike trips - but I’m not sure what other runs accept the Hudson to plan for yet.

There is also a release on the Esopus which is on the 21st which I am going to. On top of that is the Sacandaga which releases almost every day in the summer, and is a perfect class II starter run.

There is plenty more that runs naturally, and with all this rain much of it has been up.

3 days later…

Make that 5! I’m in the Bethlehem area. Got my Llama a month ago. Taken it on the Lehigh from Glen to Slatington. Man it felt invincible. Not sure when I’ll get out next ( just glued the tiedowns for thighstraps ) as I work the next 6 days in a row and am headed out to Utah for some canyoneering after that.