Just wanted to say hi!

Hello folks… I just found this board yesterday, and I wanted to say hello! I’m a grad-student in Colorado (transplanted from Oregon) and I got an Alpacka just last year. I’ve taken it on one big trek to AK so far (plus a smattering of smaller local jaunts), and I’m really glad to find this Forum! I have future plans with it, and it’ll be nice to chat with folks who know what they’re doing. As y’all might imagine, in nearly any other backpacking/trekking Forum when you ask about an Alpacka Raft, folks say something to the effect of “I know one guy that has one. Lemme see… Oh wait, I guess that’s you. Aren’t those things expensive?” :neutral_face: 'Tis a niche market, I s’pose.

I see there’s a lot of whitewater folks here… I’ve taken mine down a few small Class 2-3 runs around here (which is fun! :mrgreen:), but my primary interest is taking somewhat long, remote treks over little-used (usually self-designed) routes that would otherwise be impossible/difficult without amphibious transport. I’m a rain forest junkie, so most my plans involve the PNW, coastal BC & SE Alaska. My last trip was 16 days solo in the Russell Fjord Wilderness outside Yakutat… it was my first big jaunt with an Alpacka, and I’m already in love! :slight_smile: I got to find some nice solitude (11 days straight w/ no signs of people) and explore some country that not many “regular” backpackers get a chance to.

Anyhoo, I could talk for awhile, but I hope that’s a decent-enough introduction. I’m glad to see lots of well-seasoned faces here (a number of you I’ve heard about over the years), and I hope to pick your brains when the time arises! In the meantime, happy rafting, and I’ll poke my head in when things get slow around work.

Best to y’all,

• Mike

Mike,

Welcome to the forum for packrafting junkies. Yes we are a special breed, but our tribe is growing. I enjoyed all your pictures and trip report. I look forward to seeing/hearing more.

All the best,

Forrest

Mike,