Explorer 42 in Grand Canyon?

Hello All,

I’m new to the concept of packrafting and would like some advice:

My GF and I have done a few Grand Canyon backpacking trips in recent years and were considering adding a packraft into the mix for this year. We were awarded a permit (use of packraft included) for the middle of April '16. Our itinerary is the following (for those who are familiar): Head down Tanner Trail to Colorado River, hike up-river on the Beamer Trail to the confluence of the Little Colorado River, return to the Tanner Trail, and hike out the way we came. Since this is an out and back itinerary, we’d like to hike up-river to the confluence, put in at the LCR, and exit 5 miles down river (maximum allowed by backcountry permit) which ends up being about 2 miles up-river from Tanner Rapid. We’d be concerned primarily with 65-mile rapid and Lava Canyon rapid (https://www.riverbrain.com/river_rapid/show/236). Since this appears to be a relatively calm section of the river, we were looking at purchasing an Explorer 42 outfitted with a cargo fly, and using the shred-apart paddle option since this appears to be the lightest weight option -adding about 10lbs to our pack(s). I have the following concerns, however: