Seeking CO partners

I’m looking for packraft partners, ideally based in Colorado. About me: Not a beginner, but by no means advanced. I’m in my second year of packrafting, and have done mostly class II stuff, but recently returned from Alaska and did a no-swim descent of the Kenai River Canyon (class II+/III?). Also completed a 2 day swiftwater rescue packraft safety course this year. Certified in Wilderness First Aid.

Would enjoy meeting reliable, safe partners for either day or overnight trips. Especially interested in improving my skills, so trips in the II+/III+ range would be great. If interested, drop me a line. Thanks!

-Tom

Tom you might have more luck if you join the Colorado Packrafting group on the facebooks

Just a quick addendum to my original post: I did my first packraft overnighter this week, a successful and fun outing. I went on the very popular Ruby/Horsethief section of the Colorado River at 2400 cfs, 27 miles in length. It’s definitely an easy, beginner section of the river, but there was some variety to the river features and it was fun to blend packrafting with ultralight backpacking gear (I’ve been doing UL backpacking for many years). I could have done without the heat, however; the high on day 1 was 100 degrees. Ugh…but in the shade with a slight breeze, tolerable.

A highlight of the trip: Watching an old Piper Cub single-engine plane with large Alaska-style tires do a super short riverside landing on a gravel bar. Impressive piece of flying.

Infrastructure: Thanks for the FB packraft group tip. To be honest, not crazy about joining FB given all the issues FB has had with data, but my wife has an account so maybe I can drop by that page using her account. Thanks again.

-Tom

Tom,