inexperienced packrafter looking for upper midwest mentor

Hi there,
I am new to packrafting.org (obviously) and packrafting in general (slightly less obviously). I come from a whitewater/expedition canoeing background and have almost zero whitewater kayaking experience. I am, in fact, so new to packrafting that I haven’t yet gotten a boat (they are pricey you know), but I should be getting a Denali and gear in a month or two. Thus, I am confident that I’ll be competent on flatwater, but don’t know any other upper midwestern packrafters who could show me the ropes on whitewater or with whom I could even go on trips. My ultimate goal with packrafting is to enable very long multi stage trips (like the nahanni river for its on river climbing) and get as far away from people as possible. I’m going to school in Northfield MN (1 hour south of the Twin Cities) and call the northern suburbs of Chicago home. If you’d let me learn to paddle with you, or know of a group who would, let me know.

Spencer

Spencer, in perusing this forum, you’re the only other upper-midwest-based person I have come across. I am in Wisconsin. I got my raft just 15 months ago.

I have learned to paddle it and and to do whitewater by joining the Sierra Club Wisconsin River Touring Section http://wisconsin.sierraclub.org/rts/. I have done a bunch of their trips and classes, including the river safety and rescue course. Most of the trips are in northern Wisconsin, but some are in surrounding states. Also, individuals get together for personal trips. The club is all about helping others to enjoy river paddling. A half dozen trips with them got me ready for a 25 mile hike, 50 mile paddle down the South Fork of the Flathead in the Bob Marshall Wilderness in Montana that I organized with FredK off this site http://packrafting.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2602.