Intro Whitewater Packrafting Course - Tasmania 3&4 Oct

Canoe Tasmania will be conducting an Introductory Whitewater Packrafting Course based at the Arm River Outdoor Education Centre and Mersey River Whitewater Course in NW Tasmania over the weekend of the 3rd and 4th October.

The course is suited to complete novices, beginner paddlers who intend to paddle grade 2 whitewater plus existing packrafters who are aspiring to paddle grade 3 safely & competently. The focus for the course is on developing safety and technical knowledge specific to packrafts being used on grade 2 whitewater. There will be a combination of both theoretical and on-water practical components and all participants should be prepared for sessions involving capsizes and swimming in moving water (wetsuits or drysuits will be necessary).

The course is being run by experienced professional whitewater instructors - Alex McWhirter and myself. Spaces are extremely limited with only 8 spots being initially offered. This course is ideal for those who wish to enrol in future intermediate whitewater courses that will be offered by Canoe Tasmania. We also intend to ultimately offer advanced whitewater packrafting courses on grade 3+/4 water for those who are looking to safely journey down more serious rivers and steep creeks.
Further information can be found at: http://tas.canoe.org.au/introductory-whitewater-packrafting-course/

To secure a space on the course please return the Registration Form (available from the above link) with payment to Canoe Tasmania. Canoe Tasmania can be contacted directly via canoe.tas@canoe.org.au or if you have specific questions regarding the course feel free to post here or PM me.